Elizabeth Justen Elected Chair of South Broward Hospital District Board

August 04, 2023

Elizabeth Justen

The South Broward Hospital District’s Board of Commissioners elected officers at its annual meeting in July. Elizabeth Justen was chosen as chair, Steven Harvey will serve as vice chair, and Douglas Harrison becomes secretary/treasurer.

The board, whose seven members are appointed by Florida’s governor to provide governance for Memorial Healthcare System, also includes Jose Basulto, Brad Friedman, Dr. Luis Orta, and Laura Raybin Miller.

Justen, a Hollywood resident, is executive director of the Sheriff’s Foundation of Broward County, a nonprofit organization which funds community programs and initiatives. She is also a manufacturer’s representative at OFB Marketing and the owner at The Marketing Experience. She was appointed to the board in 2020 for a four-year term.

South Florida-based Memorial Healthcare System is a national leader in quality care and patient, physician, and employee satisfaction. Its commitment to deeper caring and smarter health prioritizes a person-centered approach that has delivered safe, positive outcomes for 70 years.

Featuring multi-disciplinary collaboration, research, innovation, and transparency within its many facilities, Memorial is focused on removing barriers, increasing access, and providing equitable care throughout the region. It employs a staff of more than 15,000 and operates six hospitals, numerous primary, urgent, and 24/7 care facilities, medical office buildings, a health specialty center, and nursing home.