About the Foundation

Memorial Foundation was established in 1981 to provide philanthropic support to Memorial Healthcare System whose mission is to provide safe, quality, cost-effective, patient- and family-centered care, regardless of one's ability to pay, with the goal of improving the health of the community it serves. Since its inception in 1953, Memorial Healthcare System has been a leader in providing high-quality health care services to South Florida residents. Today, it is one of the largest public healthcare systems in the nation and highly regarded for its exceptional patient- and family-centered care. Memorial Healthcare System's patient, physician and employee satisfaction rates are some of the most admired in the country, and the system is recognized as a national leader in quality healthcare.

Dedicated to supporting healthcare for the community served by Memorial Healthcare System, Memorial Foundation is the central agency through which charitable contributions are made. A volunteer Board of Directors, comprised of prominent business and community leaders and physicians, oversees all aspects of the Foundation's operations.

Memorial Foundation accepts gifts of cash, checks, securities, real estate (limited), tangible personal property (limited), charitable gift annuities, life insurance (limited), charitable remainder trusts and charitable lead trusts.


Kevin Janser
Senior Vice President & Chief Development Officer

Felicia G. Bell, Esq.
Director of Planned Giving

Craig Cohen
Director of Sponsorship Development

Cristina Chediak
Development Director of Cancer Institute

Summer Dowler Ehrmann
Director of Community Development

Don Eachus
Director of Development

Jackie Johnstone
Director of Annual Giving

Board of Directors


  • Stuart Siegel — Chairman
  • Carl Schuster, Esq. — Immediate Past Chair
  • Thomas R. Oliveri — 1st Vice Chair
  • Ray T. Berry — 2nd Vice Chair
  • Susanne Hurowitz — Secretary
  • Douglas Collier — Treasurer
  • R. Doug Gawrych, CPA — At Large Member
  • Andrew J. Greenfield, MD — At Large Member
  • Cheryl Peisach — At Large Member


  • Maureen Adams
  • Gary A. Birken, MD
  • Nina Beauchesne, FACHE
  • Steven Becker
  • Anthony Bland
  • Mitchell Eisenberg, MD
  • Alberto E. Fernandez, Jr.
  • Alejandra Fernandez
  • Aurelio M. Fernandez, III, FACHE
  • Ronald D. Finkelstein, CPA
  • Commissioner Karen Harrington
  • Jen Klaassens
  • Chantal Leconte, FACHE
  • Luis Raez, MD
  • Brett Rose
  • Zeff Ross, FACHE
  • Frank Scholl, MD
  • Randi D. Schwartz
  • Lawrence D. Share
  • Marcia Tabatchnick
  • Ed Walls
  • Norma Kipnis Wilson
  • Denise Wittich

Directors Emeritus

  • Robert Amchir (deceased)
  • Michael Bolton
  • Ronald L. Book, Esq.
  • Herbert Brizel, MD
  • Cindy Conine
  • Jeff Conine
  • Alberto E. Fernandez, Sr.
  • Peter Livingston, MD
  • Wendy Masi, PhD
  • Henry D. Perry, Jr., MD (deceased)
  • Frank V. Sacco, FACHE
  • George Steinbrenner (deceased)